ERASMUS exchange program for students of the Faculty of Physics

ERASMUS is an EU program with the aim of promoting student exchange within Europe. Funding is provided for a one-semester or two-semester study stay at a European university with
  • Payment of tuition fees at the host university.
  • A maximum of 10 months mobility allowance. The amount of the mobility allowance changes from year to year.
  • Language course in the host country before the start of studies.

An exchange is only possible with an institution with which an ERASMUS contract in physics exists.

The exchange program always covers one academic year, i.e. the winter semester and the following summer semester. Students may participate in the exchange during either the winter semester, summer semester, or both winter and summer semesters.

Important: There is only one application deadline at the end of the lecture period in the winter semester.


European universities with an ERASMUS contract in physics

Country City University/Institution Number of places
  University Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski 2
  Aalto Aalto University 2
  Lyon École Normale Supérieure de Lyon 3
  Palaiseau École Polytechnique 1
  UGA Université Grenoble Alpes 3
  INP Grenoble École Nationale Supérieure de Physique, Électronique, Matériaux 5
  Université Paris Cité Université 2
  Aix*Marseille Université Université 1
  Université de Strasbourg Université (nur Geophysik) 3
  Dublin Trinity College 1
  Turin  Università degli studi di Torino (englischsprachige Masterkurse) 1
  Kaunas Kaunas University of Technology 1
  Nijmegen Radboud University 2
  Oslo University of Oslo maximal 3
  Tromsø The Arctic University of Norway 2
  Gdanska Politechnika Gdanska 2
  Universidade de Lisboa Instituto Superior Técnico 2 (nur Master)
  Bukarest University of Bucharest 2
  Stockholm Royal Institute of Technology 1
  Linköping Institute of Technology ( siehe auch: IFM  ) 1
  Lausanne École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne 1
  Bilbao Universidad de Pais Vasco Campus de Bizkaia 2
  Valencia Universidad de Valencia 2
  Istanbul Istanbul Teknik Üniversitesi (nur Meteorologie) 1
  Izmir Ege University, Bormova/Izmir 2


Leave of Absence

Students can take a leave of absence from the KIT for the duration of their ERASMUS stay. Exams can also be taken at KIT during the leave of absence


Recognition of study achievements

Academic achievements can be recognized in consultation with the chairperson or deputy chairperson of the examination board for the MA or BA course.


  1.  Application Deadlines: The application period for the coming academic year (i.e. the winter and summer semester) is until the end of the lectures in the winter semester.
  2. Requirements:
    • Previous academic achievements should be good.
    • Basic knowledge of the language of the host country should be available.
  3. Application Process: Apply to the coordinator for physics with

The recognition of academic achievements is independent of the Learning Agreement and must be discussed and confirmed in advance with the chair of the examination board.

More information about the ERASMUS Program