Ehrenpromotion H. SchopperHonorary Doctorate for Herwig Schopper

Prof. Herwig Schopper, former university lecturer in Karlsruhe, was awarded an honorary doctorate from KIT at a ceremony on March 6, 2024. After a decade of work in Karlsruhe, Mr. Schopper later headed the two major research institutions DESY and CERN.

Read more
 How hot will our summers get?

A high-resolution climate simulation ensemble reveals the future development of heatwaves with climate change and the local heat stress for southern Germany.

Read more
DPG Frühjahrstagung, FahneDPG Spring Meeting 2024

From March 4 to March 8, 2024, the Spring Meeting of the division particle physics of the German Physical Society will take place at KIT. Around 1000 participants are expected.

Read more
Europ-Quantenzentrum-2023_084-smallerKIT and the European Quantum Center in Strasbourg

Professor Anja Metelmann of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) has the opportunity to teach and conduct research in quantum computing across borders with the European Confederation of Upper Rhine Universities (EUCOR).

Read more
ERC-Grant DarkQuantumQuantum Technologies for Axion Dark Matter Search

The project DarkQuantum is being funded with a prestigious ERC synergy grant for six years. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer is one of the leaders of the project, which aims to experimentally prove the existence of axions using quantum technologies.

Read more
Portrait Sarah Jones, Leiterin des DWDSarah Jones appointed first woman to head the German Meteorological Service

Prof. Sarah Jones, former professor in the Department of Tropospheric Research at the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research, was appointed as first female President of the German Weather Service by the Federal Minister for Digitization and Transport on August 1st, 2023. The German Weather Service is a federal agency based in Offenbach am Main, Hesse. It provides the weather forecast for the German public and users such as shipping, agriculture and the international scientific community. We warmly congratulate our former colleague on her new position!

To press release/ DWD
Teaserbild_LaunchSonde_SMohr-smallerOn the hunt of thunderstorms and hail ...

... with hail sondes and drones for a better understanding of hail formation - training successfully completed.

More information
Physik-Preis Dresden für Jörg SchmalianDresden Physics Prize for Jörg Schmalian

Jörg Schmalian received the 2023 Dresden Physics Prize  for his research in condensed matter theory and in recognition of his achievements in promoting close cooperation between the Max Planck Institute for Physics of Complex Systems (MPI-PKS) and the TU Dresden.

Read more
Laptop and BooksDistinguished lectures at the department in 2023

Based on the results of the teaching evaluation, each semester the KIT Faculty of Physics awards  prizes to the best rated lecturers in each category. We congratulate the award winners and wish them further success.

Award winners in the summer semester 2023

fakultätstlehrpreis-2023-physik-smallTeaching Award of the Department 2023: Alexander Lemburg

For outstanding teaching in the Introduction Week for international first-year students in the MSc Meteorology and Climate Physics, Dr. Alexander Lemburg receives the Teaching Award of the Physics-Department 2023.

See video
flyer-kit-im-rathaus-kceta-20233. Juli 2023 – KIT im Rathaus: „Das Universum und wir“

On July 3, 2023, KCETA will again present an event for the public in the series "KIT im Rathaus (KIT in the City Hall)". There will be a series of lectures on the topic "The Universe and Us".
In addition, you can also visit the KCETA exhibition in the 1st floor foyer of the City Hall from July 3 to 6, 2023.

Read more
landesforschungspreisState Research Award for Anke-Susanne Müller

Professor Anke-Susanne Müller of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will receive the Baden-Württemberg 2022 State Research Award, which honors the top physicist for her achievements in basic research. With her team, Müller is making groundbreaking contributions to making particle accelerators more stable, compact, and energy-efficient.

Read more
BücherDistinguished lectures at the faculty in 2022 and 2022/23.

Based on the results of the teaching evaluation, each semester the KIT Faculty of Physics awards  prizes to the best rated lecturers in each category. We congratulate the award winners and wish them further success.

Award winners in the summer semester 2022

Award winners in the winter semester 2022/23

M. Klute, Humboldt-PreisHumboldt Professorship

The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) brings another world-leading researcher to Germany: Particle physicist Markus Klute is awarded a Humboldt Professorship. With this, KIT aims to achieve a world-leading position in the LHC program at CERN.

Mehr erfahren
Fakultätspreis-Lehrpreis 2022Faculty Teaching Award 2022

Kirsten Eilert and Andreas Schubert will receive the Teaching Award of the KIT Department of Physics in 2022. Congratulations!

Video der Preisträger
J. SchmalianBardeen Prize

The prestigious Bardeen Prize of 2022 will be awarded to Jörg Schmalian (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology), Mohit Randeria, (The Ohio State University), and Peter Hirschfeld (University of Florida). The prize recognizes their pioneering theoretical work that has provided significant insights into the nature of superconductivity, its realization in strongly correlated systems, and the experimental study of unconventional superconductors.

Ehrendoktor-Verleihung A. GerstAstronaut A. Gerst receives honorary doctorate

The German ESA astronaut received an honorary doctorate from the KIT Department of Physics and the Department of Civil Engineering, Geo and Environmental Sciences. Alexander Gerst flew in two missions, 2014 and 2018, both to the International Space Station ISS. He began his scientific career at the University of Karlsruhe, where he graduated in geophysics in 2003.

Mehr erfahren