Welcome to the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics offers bachelor's and master's study programs in physics, geophysics, meteorology and climate physics, and for the education of physics teachers. Research at the department can be divided into five major topics: Particle and Astroparticle Physics, Quantum Materials and Systems, Optics and Photonics, Geophysics, Meteorology and Climate Physics.

ElastoQMat.Logo
Extension of the Collaborative Research Center "Elasto-Q-Mat"

The Collaborative Research Center Transregio 288, Elastic Tuning and Response of Electronic Quantum Phases of Matter is being funded by the German Research Foundation for a further four years. This research program is jointly carried out by the Universities of Frankfurt and Mainz and the KIT.

Further Information
Fachschaft-Physik-Lehrpreis
Teaching Award of the Department 2024

The Physics Student Council is the winner of the Teaching Award of the Physics Department in recognition of its commitment and service to students. Congratulations!

Further Information
Ehrenpromotion H. Schopper
Honorary Doctorate for Herwig Schopper

Prof. Herwig Schopper, former university lecturer in Karlsruhe, was awarded an honorary doctorate from KIT at a ceremony on March 6, 2024. After a decade of work in Karlsruhe, Mr. Schopper later headed the two major research institutions DESY and CERN.

Read more
rr
Studies
rr
Research

Willkommen an der KIT-Fakultät für Physik

Die Fakultät für Physik bietet Bachlor- und Masterstudiengänge in Physik, Geophysik, Meteorologie und Klimaphysik sowie dem Lehramt Physik an. Die Forschung an der Fakultät lässt sich in fünf große Themenbereiche gliedern: Teilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik, Quantenmaterialien und -systeme, Optik und Photonik, Geophysik, Meteorologie und Klimaphysik.

News / Newsarchiv

ElastoQMat.Logo
Verlängerung des Sonderforschungsbereichs "Elasto-Q-Mat"

Der Sonderforschungsbereich Transregio 288, Elastic Tuning and Response of Electronic Quantum Phases of Matter wird für weitere vier Jahre von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert. Dieses Forschungsprogramm wird gemeinsam von den Universitäten Frankfurt und Mainz und dem KIT durchgeführt.

Weitere Informationen
Fachschaft-Physik-Lehrpreis
Fakultätslehrpreis 2024

Die Fachschaft Physik ist Preisträgerin des Fakultätslehrpreises Physik 2024. Ihr Engagement und ihr Service für die Studierenden wird durch diesen Preis gewürdigt. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

Weitere Informationen
Ehrenpromotion H. Schopper
Ehrendoktorwürde für Herwig Schopper

Herrn Prof. Herwig Schopper, ehemaliger Hochschullehrer in Karlsruhe, wurde am 6. März 2024 in einer Festsitzung die Ehrendoktorwürde des KIT verliehen. Nach einem Jahrzehnt der Tätigkeit in Karlsruhe leitete Herr Schopper später die beiden großen Forschungseinrichtungen DESY und CERN.

Weitere Informationen
rr
Studium
rr
Forschung